Someone Like You

A Poem about an ideal lover

Abhishek Sainani
2 min readJul 27, 2022
Photo by PHUOC LE on Unsplash

Someone like you, I would like to,
have by my side, all the while,
someone in dreams, walking into life,
making all my wishes and desires come true,
someone like you.

A look in your eyes, a touch of your hand,
the feeling that you’re with me,
gives me the strength and the confidence,
to do the right with all my might,
and be what I wish to be.

Life is so weird, twists and turns ahead,
I always cherish looking at you,
and all the words you said.

Someone like you, I would like to,
have by my side, all the while,
someone in dreams, walking into life,
making all my wishes and desires come true,
someone like you.

I wrote the above poem in high school. This was during those days when I was preparing for competitive examinations to get into a good college that offers an engineering degree program. My parents had ensured that I had no access to TV or novels, and we didn’t have a computer or a dial-up internet connection at home. Hence, no video games or online chatting.

The only resources I had was a pen and paper (I didn’t have a smartphone back then). And I enjoyed writing. So I began writing some poems. They may seem childish or juvenile today but in those days this was a bigger achievement for me than getting a high score on mock tests. It also kept me hopeful that one day I would also have a girlfriend and I will read this to her. But I’ve changed over the years. Today I am married to a wonderful woman. Instead of singing this poem to her, I ask her to read it and imagine I’m reciting it to her. I think I should be more grateful in life.

--

--

Abhishek Sainani

An aspiring writer who often juggles between his inner world, his dream world, and the real world. Writes poetry, humorous observations and opinion pieces.